Meeting Someone you Admire

January 30, 2009 at 8:35 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , )

Tonight I had the pleasure of attending a Writers on Writing event at the Writer’s Guild West. Every week the Writer’s Guild brings in a screenwriter and has another writer interview them.  I was a little nervous because I have never been to one of these events and do not no anyone in the Guild because I am not a member (you have to have writing credits for that). I was also excited because of the writer being interviewed.

Tonight Michael Patrick King was the writer being interviewed. Well know of his big success, Sex and the City the series as well at the movie which he also directed.  His other work includes Murphy Brown (he joined the series during the Dan Quayle story line), and The Comeback. He talked about his inspirations and how him and his writing team came up with story lines for Sex and the City. He talked about his writing process and his experiences. He gave lots of great advice. He told us how he didn’t have any contacts when he started but had written a spec script and was given a chance.

After two hours of laughs and insight, there was a small reception but most of us stayed in the conference room to get a chance to talk to Michael Patrick King and hopefully get an autograph. To writers, successful writers are celebrities to us. I wasn’t sure what I was going to say but I stood in line for my chance. My turn came and i said the only thing I could think of. I told Michael that I watch the  Sex and the City DVDs when I get writer’s block, it is a great inspiration to me and gets me writing. He said “Thank you so much that is very flattering. I appreciate that.” Then I had him sign my writing notebook.  He also wrote a short message for me as well. I am thinking of tearing it out and framing it. 

At the end of February they will be featuring Diablo Cody, writer of Juno.

Leave a Reply

