Childhood memories

March 13, 2009 at 5:30 am (Uncategorized) ()

 

Dad's Birthday Dinner last October.

Dad's Birthday Dinner last October.

When I was talking with my mom today she said that very soon her and my dad are going to be putting our house up for sale.

 

I started tearing up after she gave me the news. I started thinking of all of the memories in that house. The time when my mom dressed up as a clown and shocked my niece. All of the holidays when mom and I would be baking before all of our family would come over. The Christmases when my dad would play Santa and all of my nieces and nephews couldn’t wait for the adults to be done with dinner so they could start opening presents. The Easters when eggs would be hidden all over the house and backyard and we would run around trying to find the most eggs. The time when the house caught fire, my parents lost some memories but were able to rebuild and create new memories. The extra bedroom that was always open to me and my brothers when ever we needed a place to crash. The night of my college graduation party when my friends and I sat up with my dad at the bar in our basement telling stories. The summer my mom was sick and my dad and I took care of her.

Our house is the place I really feel at home when I go back to visit. Everything there is so familiar and always makes me feel better. It is the place I escape to when I need to get out of LA for a few days.

Hopefully I will be able to get a few more visits and time at our house before they sell it.

Leave a Reply

