Dating in the Dark

July 21, 2009 at 8:31 am (dating) (, , , , )

Tonight I watched the Season Premiere of ABC’s new reality show, “Dating in the Dark”. The concept, 3 men and 3 women would meet completely in the dark. They would get to know each other without seeing the other person’s face.

They would have to go on personality and scent to see if they would like the other person. In the end they would be able to get a look of the other person and decide if they wanted to pursue it further. 2 possible couples were formed after this first episode. The third one never happened. The woman in this instance decided after seeing what the guy looked like she was not interested, even though she said she liked the chemistry they had in the dark.

After watching this show, I conducted my own “Dating in the Dark” experiment. I posted an ad on Craigslist without a picture. I got a few responses and the guys would ask for my picture but I would just keep the email conversation going and not sending a picture to them even though they sent me a picture. One guy when he asked me said, “intellectual and physical attraction are both necessary for this to happen”. Yes I do agree with him, both are necessary to make things happen. After a few emails back and forth, we finally exchanged pictures. He was cute. Mine was a picture that was taken last year. (The more recent ones were taken towards the end of the night out with the girls.) He replied, “Very cute picture. You just don’t look like my type though.” I emailed back and thanked him for his honesty, some guys just stopped emailing. I should have known after his first email when he told me he is very attractive, that I wasn’t his type.
Oh well, I did keep talking to a few of the guys that emailed and liked my picture.

Who knows Dating in the Dark could be the new way to meet your future mate.

Leave a Reply

