Facing your Fears and Moving On

February 26, 2010 at 10:09 pm (dating, Job, life) (, , , , , , , , , , , , )

[tweetmeme= “ljmaggie.wordpress”]

It has been crazy busy this week, and finally today I only had a few things to do for clients. The rest of the day has been spent relaxing and watching movies. I finally got a chance to watch the movie, “Love Happens” with Jennifer Aniston and Aaron Eckhart. Though it does fit the mold of a romantic comedy the message in the movie is very powerful.

Aaron Eckhart’s character is an author and speaker who helps people move on from the loss of a loved one and start living life again. He helps people, including a man named Walter, face his fear of going into a hardware store again after the loss of his son.

This message is for everyone no matter what they are facing in their life. We all have fears whether it be in our personal or professional life. In our personal life it can either moving on from the loss of a loved one, or moving on after a heartbreak. Both are painful and it is hard.  We should never forget the people that have passed away, they were in our life for a reason. For the people we have dated, we should forget about them and open our heart again to love. It is hard, I have been there and continue to work through my insecurities.

In our professional lives it is hard to move on from a job that we don’t like or even start a business. For five years I was in a job that started out amazing but over time began to wear me out and even depress me. Last year I started a business part-time while working the full-time job that was draining me. In July, I left that job for a temporary full-time while building my business. Then in October of last year I was laid off from that full-time and was doing my business full-time. It was scary. I now had to work my ass off to bring in my income. I had to be constantly out there making connections and I had to answer to myself.

This past year and even starting into this year has been a time of rediscovering myself and making bold choices. Though it has been scary, I am still here in LA and on my feet.

Two of my favorite Alexander Graham Bell quotes:

“When one door closes, another opens; but we often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door that we do not see the one which has opened for us.”

“Sometimes we stare so long at a door that is closing that we see too late the one that is open.”

Leave a Reply

