It’s My 6 Year Anniversary

September 13, 2010 at 4:43 pm (dating, life) (, , , , , , )

[tweetmeme= “ljmaggie.wordpress”]

Yes it’s my six-year anniversary and I’m not talking about a wedding anniversary. Six years ago today I put everything I could fit in two suitcases, got on a plane and moved to Hollywood. It is hard to believe it has been six years but it also feels like it has been longer. I have been through so much. A month after I moved out here, I got a great job, four months after moving out here I got married and a year later I was separated. Two years ago I launched my writing consulting business and last year I launched my virtual assistant business while still working full-time. Last July I moved on from that full-time job and took a different job, then was laid off from that job last October. Since then I have been depending on my business income to live.

In the past month I have realized I am going through a depression of sorts because things have been tough. Even though the weather is beautiful out here, it hasn’t always been sunshine and roses for me. There have been lots of ups and downs but I am still trudging along.

I have also dated some interesting characters since my divorce. There have been the players, verbal/emotional abuser, and the nice guys. Four months after my ex left, I met M. Yes M has been in my life for four years. He has been the one constant in my life even though we don’t always see each other. He is my biggest cheerleader and always gives me that extra push I need. Three years ago I met JB completely by accident and I am glad I did. He is a great friend and someone who looks out for me. In fact, I hung out with JB twice this weekend and it was so much fun, it definitely made me smile.

My mom has supported every decision I have made in my life including moving out here. When things are hard for me and I am calling her crying she helps me work through things. I know it is hard because I am so far from here but she knows this where I want to be. My friends have also supported me every step of the way.

Though it hasn’t always been easy, I am so glad I moved out to California and found a way to stay.

I was singing this song in my head on the plane the day I moved out here.

Leave a Reply

