Am I setting myself up…

December 27, 2010 at 9:00 am (dating, life) (, , , , , , )

[tweetmeme= “ljmaggie.wordpress”]

…for heartbreak?

I was talking to my dad on Christmas and he asked about the guy and how he is doing. I said he is fine and spending the day celebrating with his friends. My dad thought it was weird that he hadn’t asked me to join him and his friends. He also said that it seems that this guy might not think I am good enough to meet his friends.

But when I talked to one of my really good guy friends he said, “sounds like he might have commitment issues and you need to take things very, very slow with him”. This could be very true because when the man and I briefly talked about past relationships he said that he has only had short term relationships and one girl even lost interest. It is possible this could be issue? One of my clients is a relationship coach and she told me to say to him, “When you are ready and feel the time is right, I would like to meet your friends” and then see what his reaction is or what he says and then just leave it at that.

Also it is the holidays and spending the holidays with someone you are dating is a big step and he might be ready for that quite yet. I did ask him what he is doing for new years and he said he didn’t know and no one has brought it up.

He did thank me for the birthday wishes I sent him and wished me a Merry Christmas.

I know my dad is just worried about me. I think with this guy I just have to let things progress naturally and I like taking things slow and he might have to take things a lil slower.

Leave a Reply

