Finding a good pair of shoes is like finding a good man

March 8, 2011 at 1:51 am (dating, life) (, , , , , , )

I know that might sound weird to some of you but it is true, finding a good pairs of shoes is like finding a good man.

I was never really into shoes, let alone dressing up as a young girl, I was a bit of a tomboy. Then I started going out more, went to college, moved to California and got a job at a sneaker store. That is when my obsession really started. I didn’t know too much about the sneaker industry or that much about shoes even, but after I started, I quickly learned. I would spend time in the stores and even was lucky enough to go to the trade show twice a year. At the show they not only had sneakers but every type of shoe you could find, it is a girl’s heaven. As I started dressing up more, my heel collection started too and now I am obsessed, my mom and friends tell me I don’t need more shoes. But I can’t help it, when I find a pair I like I must have it, so I go on a mission.

When I find that pair at either DSW, Nordstrom Rack or Marshalls, I know I must have it and get upset when I can’t find it in my size.

The same goes for men, when I see someone I like, I flirt, go on a date, and sometimes even start a relationship with them. But like shoes, sometimes it just doesn’t feel right, either it is too tight, it hurts, or are damaged beyond repair. Sometimes even though they look good on the outside, they aren’t so good on the inside. And sometimes your friends don’t like them. I have a pair of shoes that my friends call my stripper shoes, they are not clear or plastic, they just have a platform. And then there are men in your life that your friends don’t like, and usually they are right.

But every once in a while your friends might get it wrong, and that one they didn’t think fit, is actually perfect, it just takes time for them to like them.

My newest pair of Steve Maddens (I got a great deal on at DSW), that I will be wearing tonight for date night with JS.

1 Comment

  1. The Single Girl said,

    I couldn’t agree more! Sometimes there are those shoes that are gorgeous on the shelf, but the truth is, they’d look better on somebody else. Sucks, but, it’s true!

    Good luck on your date!

Leave a Reply

