The Weight Issue

January 28, 2010 at 10:39 pm (dating, life) (, , , , , , , , , , , )

[tweetmeme= “ljmaggie.wordpress”]

Weight is something that every woman obsesses over (I know men do too). We look at celebrities and models and hope that we can look like them. The award shows only talk about the skinny celebrities, not plus size celebs like Mo’nique who last weekend at the SAG awards looked amazing!!!

We try every diet, workout every day of the week, and some even fast or detox. It has become such a big issue that someone are so obsessive about it, they go overboard with it trying everything that is out there.

I have a couple of friends who obsess, so much so that when they gain 5-7 lbs they get upset about it. And these friends don’t even need to lose weight. They look at the number on the scale and freak out. They don’t always think that muscle weighs more then fat. They workout every day just to get those pounds down. They detox to lose pounds quickly.

As a plus-size girl this bothers me. They think they are fat when they gain 2 pounds that they almost kill themselves to lose it. Does living in LA where any flaw can be easily fixed by a doctor with a knife, make us think that we aren’t perfect? Is it hard to be a plus size girl living in LA? Yes it is does. Do I workout to firm up yes? Am I comfortable in my body, YES. I am proud of my body being a size 16. I used to be a size 22. I have strong legs, a large (natural) chest, and as I have been told from a couple “special” friends, I have a nice butt.  One of my stylist clients even told me that I am well proportioned and curvy.

Does it get frustrating when guys say I am cool and fun to hang out with but I am not their type? Was it frustrating when I applied for restaurant jobs and the manager interviewing me looks me up and down and decides that I don’t have the right “look” to work there, even though I have over 15 years of experience in the restaurant industry? Of course it does.

But I know who I am and I know that the right man is out there for me, that will love me for me. And for my friends who obsess, I listen to them and ignore it.

Leave a comment